Product Review: Eye make-up remover by Сто рецептов красоты

I have tried so many eye make-up removers that it’s difficult to count them all. Maybe I expect too much from the make-up remover, but basically:

a) I want something that is not greasy or irritate my eyes

b) I want all my eye lashes to stay at their place and not fall out

I don’t think that my expectations are unrealistic, yet I wasn’t lucky to encounter a product that would pass both conditions even though I have tried so many brands from drug stores to high-end.

However, eye make-up remover from Сто рецептов красоты seems to do ok. It certainly passed the first condition, it doesn’t contain oil, is very gentle and if, by accident, few drops end up in my eyes, it doesn’t have itchy effect. Feels like water. It’s active ingredients include green tea, aloe and cucumber extracts. I certainly have less fallen eye lashes compared to a lot of other products I used, but still result is not perfect. This is going to do for now, but I’m going to continue my quest for the perfect eye make-up remover.

I have to say Russian cosmetic brands surprised me with the quality of their products, some of them are so much better than their pricey western alternatives.

Product Review - Eye make-up remover by Sto Receptov Krasoti - 3 Product Review - Eye make-up remover by Sto Receptov Krasoti Product Review - Eye make-up remover by Sto Receptov Krasoti - 2

*Tip: It’s always useful to read the instructions on the bottle. You might think why would I need instructions to remove make-up, it’s so simple, you just wipe it off with the cotton pad. However, instructions suggest to hold the wet pad on the eye lid for 20 seconds and then to wipe it off. I noticed that it’s easier to remove the thick layers of mascara that way.

If you have any suggestions, please leave them in the comments below.

Have a great day!

Enhanced by Zemanta
16 thoughts on “Product Review: Eye make-up remover by Сто рецептов красоты

  1. This sounds like an interesting product to try out- especially since it’s Russian, but I doubt I live where it’s available lol. (I’m so bad I just use vaseline to get rid of my eye makeup )

    • Wow! Vaseline? 🙂 Does it work? I wear contacts and my eyes are quite sensitive, so I struggle finding the products that work and don’t irritate my eyes 🙂 where do you live, btw?

      • For me in the past I’ve tried a few products before that have claimed to be for removing eye makeup, but for some reason they were not effective at doing what they claimed. I honestly can’t remember what lead me to think that vaseline would be a good idea, lol- and it worked at removing my mascara, eye shadow and eyeliner when I would use that.. I’ve read that people have had “clogged tear ducts” from using vaseline, personally I’ve never had one issue- but maybe that’s because when i’m washing my face I use vaseline first by scooping it up and putting it on one eye at a time – and I use a wash cloth to wipe it off gently- (while in the bath), and then I carry on with using my face wash. No irritation or anything, and it always feels gentle on my eyes. So I don’t know I can’t predict how it will work for you. As for where I live ..i’m a Ukrainian/Italian who lives in Canada.

      • Oh cool! I’ll give it a try! 🙂 and I’m Azerbaijani-Russian currently living in Azerbaijan, but dreaming of sunny California 🙂

      • Azerbaijan is pretty good. We’re hosting European Olympic Games next year, so we’re going through a lot of positive changes in preparation for the event 🙂
        I checked out La Jolla on Google – it looks fantastic! I’d love to live in a place like this 🙂
        I also like Carmel by the Sea, have you been there? I’ve done my last year of high school in US as part of exchange program and fell in love with Carmel so much, that I promised to come back and live there 🙂

      • I’ll have to keep a watch out for the European olympics then, and read your travel around Azerbaijan posts!! I’ve never been to Carmel ( only La – hollywood area + Rodeo drive, El cajon, Anaheim, San Diego, and the La jolla ) That must have been so exciting for you to be able to have that opportunity to go abroad for high school, what was it like to be in the states for schooling? And Carmel looks just as equally amazing from it’s photo’s.

      • Oh I’m so glad you checked the Travel with me post – I will soon add more posts on interesting places in Azerbaijan and would love to be your host if you have a chance to visit us! 🙂
        Wow! You visited a lot of great places in Cali! During the fall break of my senior year, we took a plane to SF, rented a car and went all the way to LA and the ocean drive is so beautiful! If you have a chance, I advise you to do the same! We literally stopped every half an hour because the views were spectacular! I wanted to take the pictures all the time! 🙂
        Yes, my exchange year in the States was one of the life-changing experiences. It wasn’t easy, but it still was amazing. The difficult part was being so far away from my family and friends, but the experience and the learning is incomparable.
        I’d love to have similar experience again – there are so many beautiful places in the world waiting to be explored – and I love to have the opportunity to live in a place for considerable amount of time, to absorb the culture, to meet and learn about the people, their lifestyle. I think experiences like this make us richer and teach us so many things!
        Do you like to travel? What are the places you’d love to visit? 🙂

  2. Yes you will have too!!! I think a lot of readers would appreciate that also, because Azerbaijan sounds like a hidden gem. Haha awwh, well if you are ever in Canada- namely British Columbia you will have to let me host you as well 😛 (but come in the summer when there’s less rain or else you’ll think it’s depressing to live over here lol.)

    What is one memorable thing you can think of that maybe culturally shocked you, or that you found different in California than living in Azerbaijan?? And I can imagine that it must have been hard to be away from your family and friends, especially to be so far away, and to be in a place where you don’t know anyone at first. Haha maybe one day I will do that drive 😛

    I definitely love traveling too, I’ve been to many places, many cities- I think there are a few places I’d revisit like the island of Ios, and Athens in Greece, but- I really love Mexico..especially Nuevo Vallarta in Riviera Nayarit – there are so many states in Mexico that I’d like to see more of. And maybe one day I will make it to Azerbaijan 🙂 and to see Ateshgah.

    But definitely, the people and culture make traveling worth it..It’s weird because when you’re traveling you just meet a random group of people and for the next few days they become your new friends, where I live it’s not like that- I’ve never encountered that type of experience- only when I’ve travelled, and I can’t explain it. lol

    • Oh cool! You inspired me to start looking at the new interesting places for travel with me posts! 🙂 Haha yeah I heard that winters in Canada can be quite depressing, but the nature must be so beautiful! That’s one of the things I miss about living in Colorado. Here in Azerbaijan spring and fall period is very short, so it’s kind of like you wear winter coat one day and the next you have to take out shorts and sandals 😀 I have no time to wear trench coats and light jackets! I also miss the colors and beauty of the fall, because hear the trees are green green green and then finally when they change the colors to orange, yellow and red… boom and the wind takes all of them down 😀 I think fall in British Colombia must be pretty beautiful?! If so, I’d love to go there one day and meet you in person! 🙂

      Well, one thing that surprised me first thing when I came out of the plane were couples kissing in front of the people in the airport hehehe 🙂 in our country and traditions it’s not common for couples to express their affection publicly, so that was kind of shocking 😀 also, technology, of course was ahead of ours at the time. Back in 2002-2003 flat TVs were very expensive and not common in our country, as well as high speed internet. The luxuries like this that western world takes for granted were a miracle to me 🙂

      I haven’t been to the places you mentioned in Greece and Mexico, but both of these countries are also on my ‘countries I want to visit’ list 🙂 I’d also like to go to Santorini in Greece (looks fantastic from the pictures) and see Mayan pyramids because it’s a mystery how they were built. Other places I’d love to see are Rio in Brazil, Paris, London, New York and lots of countries in Asia. And places that I found awesomely beautiful are Petra in Jordan, Barcelona and all of the coastal Spain and France, Izmir and Istanbul and Dubai.

      Yes, I love people in general and I love meeting new people and having meaningful conversations, like the one we’re having here, even though it’s on the internet 🙂 And I agree with you while traveling people are more open to meeting new people, more relaxed and happy, maybe that’s why it’s so easy to make new friends. While in daily life most of them are so preoccupied with their own problems that they get annoyed by traffic and waiting in lines, and are more likely to be impatient and even rude.

      Hope you’re having an amazing day and I love talking to you! 🙂

      • I think you would definitely enjoy the fall here, because it is one of our longest seasons in British Columbia, we don’t get a lot of snow, and when it does snow it’s gone within less than a week..( because the rain washes it away). Which makes it feel like it’s fall for such a long time. You should come and see, it would be fun!! 🙂 I think one of the most beautiful places to see trees with the red, orange and yellow leaves is in our parks like the famous Stanley park in vancouver . I actually live within walking distance to a small lake/ park and it’s always offering stunning views throughout the seasons.. ESP In fall, and in the spring when it has blooming cherry blossoms. It sounds like you’ve been to the US so much!! California and Colorado !! Have you been to other states?? Haha awh, I laughed a little about the part where you wrote about seeing a kissing couple at the airport because it’s also interesting to learn more about Azerbaijans customs. Or what is and isn’t so common to see in public. My friend who goes to California every year ( she has family there) once said she was yelled at in California for kissing her boyfriend.. And he said PDA is frowned upon in California?? I can understand that in Azerbaijan that’s not what people Do… but in california?? lol :s .And, for you to write about where you live you’re lucky because Azerbaijan looks like it has a rich history and you have the opportunity to show Azerbaijan the way you see it to your readers. You’ve been to so many interesting places, and have experienced so many cultures ..were you a bit scared to go to jordan at all?? and what did you think of Dubai with its incredible buildings ???? And I enjoy talking to you as well 🙂 and I hope your weekend is going well!

      • You live in such a beautiful place then! 🙂 During my time in US I’ve been only to Colorado and California, I was supposed to go on a road trip with a friend of mine across the States and New York was one of the cities we were supposed to visit, but unfortunately it didn’t happen. So, NY is still in my dreams, I would also love to see Miami and Vegas.

        That’s such a weird story you told about California 🙂 well, I guess there are people with different points of view on PDA everywhere, even in California 🙂 I’m just surprised that they expressed it in such manner :S

        Azerbaijan is indeed beautiful. I hope it grows even more in the coming years in terms of infrastructure and entertainment. I think it’s a very smart decision to invest in tourism as oil money is not forever 😀 I wasn’t scared to go to Jordan, because it’s actually very calm and quiet there although just across the border there’s Syria and Israel, where it’s not so calm 😦 But Jordan also has a lot to offer in terms of history and points of attraction, there’s a lot to see and luckily we had an amazing guide, who was so much in love with his country, that he made us fall in love with it too 🙂 Dubai is an awesome place too. I spent 2 weeks there and at the end I felt like local there and I didn’t want to leave 😀 but that’s true for almost every other place I’ve been to 🙂 There’s so much to do and see in Dubai, you just need to be prepared to spend lots of money, especially on shopping, especially if you’re into designer clothing 😀 but there’s a lot to see besides Malls, which are indeed amazing. I’d love to jump with a parachute above the Palm islands. My friends have done it and there’s a photographer that takes pictures of you up in the sky and after I saw the pictures I was like I must do it! 🙂 There’s also really nice water park at Atlantis, the Palm, there were so many rides, that we couldn’t ride all of them in one day 🙂

        Were you born in Canada or did you move there later? And if you could choose any place on Earth to live, what would you choose? 🙂

        Thanks for wishing me a nice weekend! It was very nice, indeed 🙂 I hope all is well with you too!

  3. Hahah, yeah not too exciting to say, but yes I was born and raised in Canada- (it’s funny because my grandparents (and aunts), on my mothers side actually come from Italy, while my fathers side comes from the Ukraine..and somehow I ended up in Canada) What about you, Were you and your family born in Azerbaijan? I know that you’re Russian, but I also know that you do not have to be born in Russia to be Russian 😛

    You know since I’ve been to Mexico twice, (one trip I saw Tijuana, the la rumorosa hills, Ensenada, Tecate, etc..) The second trip I was in Nuevo Vallarta, and I saw the resort side of Mexico- I’ve seen two sides of Mexico and both were memorable experiences that I think I could say I wouldn’t mind living in Mexico..but maybe for 6 months out the year because I think I would miss living in BC where my family and friends are lol. Vienna, Austria comes in at a close second because of the food lol 😛 What about you? It would probably be hard to pick since it is easy to fall in love with the places you visit- like you mentioned about feeling like a local in Dubai and not wanting to leave.

    Haha, awwh but you live in a beautiful place too… it’s sad that your road trip plans fell through 😦 So I hope you do get your wish and get to see NY, Miami and Vegas :P. And Vegas has really nice outlet malls ( I never have been to Vegas but my parents go often, and usually end up bringing home new purses, or dresses for me..and the prices (compared to where I live) are good deals…so you’d probably enjoy the shopping, as well as the atmosphere and the look of each hotel- since they all have themes..and have big lobbies.
    And yeah tourism definitely helps any country- besides Azerbaijan sounds so exotic, it’s sad that I actually do not know all that much about it (until i’ve started talking to you, and seeing your post)- so it would be nice if they do focus on tourism to show the world more about it, and get people interested in traveling and planning trips to it.

    Jordan sounds wonderful- you are so lucky, it’s nice your tour guide had passion for what he was showing and telling you !!, I would be toooo scared to parachute out of a plane- but the photo would be so nice to have, to show that you actually jumped out of a plane, and were in an interesting place all at the same time 😛 So you will have to tell me all about that experience when you do that one day, and tell me if it was scary or not. How was your weekend?

    • I’m sorry it took me so long to reply. I wasn’t feeling very well the other week but I’m doing much better now 🙂

      That’s quite a mix of nationalities you have! I haven’t seen your picture, but I’m pretty sure you must look gorgeous! 🙂 I do believe that children that come from mixed marriages are the most beautiful, me included 🙂 hehe Yes, my father is Azerbaijani and my mother is Russian, but she is local. It is almost impossible to say at what generation my mother’s side moved to Azerbaijan and all of us were born in Baku, the capital of Azerbaijan.

      I’m kind of scared of jumping with the parachute too, but in Dubai they do it with instructor, so that’s better. I would be terrified of pulling the rope and opening it myself and especially taking that step out of the plane. It’s good when you have someone do it all for you and push you out of the plane if you become terrified in the last second 😀 haha
      I will tell you all about it once I do it – I promise! 🙂

      I hope you’re having good time in whatever you do. Are you studying / working / enjoying life / or a little of everything? 🙂

      • I don’t mind at all :), btw i’m thinking of sending you my reply in an email + I could send you some photo’s I have from fall/winter that I took with my phone, so you can see what it looks like where I live!

        and the email I’ll be sending you will be from my email address:

        zaychishkastyle@gmail.com

        Talk to you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

